Meanwhile, back in Greece…

So “we” went to Greece in 1971 to make a movie. This was waaaaaay back when I was still married. The movie didn’t get finished due to a series of events which I cannot go into now, because:

  1. I don’t want to get sued ๐Ÿ˜‰
  2. I don’t want to embarrass anyone
  3. I am saving it all for the tell-all book I’m writing. Yeah, that’s it!

But meanwhile I still have these cool photos to cherish of my daughter Kathryn and myself, whiling away the days, having fun around Athens in a sweet little semi-rural suburb called, aptly, Paradisou… while my then-husband slaved on his film set where he was the producer.

Two-year-old Kathy and I enjoying our little cakes at a zaharoplasteion - a pastry shop. I am showing off the fact that after 40-something years I still remember the word. Notice too the cokes (dio coca-cola). (Yuck, what a bad mom I was!)
Two-year-old Kathy and I enjoying our little cakes at a zaharoplasteion – a pastry shop. I am showing off the fact that after 40-something years I still remember the word. Notice also the two cokes (dio coca-cola). (Yuck, what a bad mom!) Oh, and look at our matching pigtails!
kp-ellie-greece
The top pic shows a bit more of the zaharoplasteion. There, I said it again! In the bottom pic we are being introduced to a hen kept by the local baker, for her eggs. This is also where we would bring our Sunday lamb to be roasted in his wood oven for hours until it was so succulent, and the garlic, and the roast potatoes… ohhh my gosh I can almost still taste it now!

That’s it for today’s reminiscing. I’ll bet there’s now a high-rise where this bakery once sat. Sigh.

15 thoughts on “Meanwhile, back in Greece…

    1. Oh I miss those glasses! They were tinted pale lilac! Why oh why don’t we save these things!
      I could write tons more about our stay there… Like when it fell to me to take Kathy to a pediatrician for her ear infection. The doc spoke not a word of English! Or the time… Geez now I’m doing another post in my head! Have to write it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

